Skip to content

Elfrieda, (May 2018-April 2020)

April 22, 2020

Elfrieda, (May 2018-April 2020) the pretty one, the free spirit, the fence over-flyer, died during the night of April 21, among her sisters. She suffered recurring prolapses, which had I treated, with short term success. A post mortem showed that she’d been egg-bound, and that her oviduct had ruptured, leading to peritonitis. Her crop and stomach were full, so she’d been eating and drinking right up to the end. After the post mortem, I was also drinking.

On the plus side, my grandchildren in Australia (aged 5 & 8) used the occasion to learn how to draw chickens, and then made up stories about Elfrieda, some of which involved her going to the shops to get hamburgers and chips, and explosions beside the sidewalk on the way. They were reassured, I think, that the egg hadn’t exploded inside her. I suspect the stories might have been influenced by a few weeks of home quarantine.🤔🐔😏😁

 

2 Comments
  1. Would you mind basically if I cite a couple of your discussions given that I deliver you credit as well as article sources returning to your webblog? My web portal is in the identical market as your site and my prospects would definitely use some of the advice you actually present at this website. Please let me know if this is okay with you. Adios for now!

  2. I try to access your site and get an error message. Just checking if you are a real person.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.